My Shower - Progress

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, thought I'd share my progress with you.
I'm a complete novice, never done anything like this before so go easy if you see I've made mistakes. I wanted to do as much of the work myself as I could mainly because I enjoy stuff like that but also to learn.

I've been blogging my progress for my friends, so I'll just link to the relevant posts if that's ok. Please ask questions, give advice etc etc...

Thanks

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5 <--- NEW! Final part

Sponsored Links
Looks like typical new(ish) house build quality!

I know plenty of people (housebashers) who build (throw together) these houses. They admit that although they build them, they would never buy one. The ones that own their own homes almost all live in houses built pre 1980. Much of what has been built since is total carp.

The worst case I can think of is Bradley Stoke (Sadly Broke) in Bristol, where Lovell Homes built a large estate in the late 80s. They had a major problem with the mortar mix, which showed up only after people had moved in. The walls were literally falling down, and many houses had to be rebuilt.

so this is an upstairs floor, but there floor appears to have two layers with polystyrene in between? Is this normal nowadays? Does it make much difference in terms of sound insulation? Thats the only reason I can think of having it.

Sponsored Links
so this is an upstairs floor, but there floor appears to have two layers with polystyrene in between? Is this normal nowadays? Does it make much difference in terms of sound insulation? Thats the only reason I can think of having it.

The water pipes also run in this polystyrene layer which i guess helps.
the sound insulation in my house is very good, which could be down to the polystyrene.