New boiler time and haven't got a clue!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys, complete plumbing novice here after a bit of advice please :)
I need a new boiler fitting as out prehistoric kingfisher is finally on its last legs!
But have not got a clue what to replace it with.
Currently the system has a tank in a cupboard halfway up the stairs with a heating element in (that is hardly ever used). There is a rad in the bathroom that gets hot when the hot water is on (a summer circuit apparently).
I'd like to keep the system as it is cos I like the way it works so would I just need a normal boiler (not combi) for this?

Sorry to be asking what is most probably a simple stupid question but I aint got a clue!

I've done the calculator thing (estimated (over I think) my house size) and it reckons 18kw. I will be getting some quotes for a replacement, so my next questions is what is a good, reliable boiler? Is it cheaper to source a boiler yourself or do plumbing engineers get better prices, or do they put a huge mark-up on?

Thanks in advance,

Martin

Sponsored Links
Currently the system has a tank in a cupboard halfway up the stairs with a heating element in (that is hardly ever used). There is a rad in the bathroom that gets hot when the hot water is on (a summer circuit apparently).
I'd like to keep the system as it is cos I like the way it works so would I just need a normal boiler (not combi) for this?
The heating element in the cylinder is just for emergencies, if the boiler fails. You would only need a "regular", i.e heat only boiler.

I've done the calculator thing (estimated (over I think) my house size) and it reckons 18kw.
Which calculator did you use?
How does that compare with the output of your Kingfisher?

I will be getting some quotes for a replacement, so my next questions is what is a good, reliable boiler? Is it cheaper to source a boiler yourself or do plumbing engineers get better prices, or do they put a huge mark-up on?