New boiler time...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
After about 17 years my Ferolli combi boiler is showing signs of weakness:

Leaking underneath the boiler...regularly loses pressure.
worrying noises when running a bath.
I guess we could expect it to stop any time at this age (?) I'm no expert of course.

Aaaanyway.

BG came over tonight as a starting point and I have a quote that I'd like some guidance on with please from a non biased point of view.

I called 5 local people today...only one called me back so far! 2nd guy coming over tomorrow pm.

Anyone able to make a genuine recommendation to my area pls? I live a couple of miles from Kidderminster, Worcs. Thanks.

BG have put this to me: (Prices rounded)

Glowworm Flexicom 30cx £880.00
Fitting (same location-easy) £1200.00
Mini expansion vessel. £71.00
Wireless thermostat £145.00
Horizontal flue £215.00
Internal condensate conn. £75.00
Powerflush & water treat £435.00
Magnetic system filter £223.00
TRV's £60.00 ea. (Quoted me for 12, but will prob. need about 6)

So there you have it. Lots for you to get in to! I see from a FAQ here that glowworm was on the 'dubious' list?

Look forward to your comments/thoughts.

Nick

Sponsored Links
Hehe, BG really like to stick it to you, don't they :eek: Boiler price is OK, fitting is OK, but then they add on loads more stuff. Did they add VAT on at the end? That's always my favourite. Price looks OK, then there's another 400 quid!

Check if you want a Glowworm. Check if you want a Magnaclean. Check if you want TRVs, they aren't mandatory on a straight boiler swap. Check which wireless controller you're getting since the cheaper ones are about 30 quid. Also decide if you even want a wireless controller since a like-for-like swap should already be wired. Read all the posts here, lots of opinions, but at least you'll know the things to think about.