New extension roof ideas - shallow pitch

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Morning all
I'm in the early stages of planning a single-storey extension to my kitchen, and looking at options for roof coverings.

The pitch will work out at approx 13 degrees, so tiles matching the rest of the house are out of the question, and I think interlocking pantiles would look like an odd compromise. I'm therefore into looking at something completely different and would appreciate thoughts on the way forward...

The roof is South-facing so I'm intending to maximise natural light by having fixed roof windows fitted. My current thinking on roof covering around this is EDPM, with a sedum green roof planted on top, but I'm a plumber not a roofer so I'm keen to hear professional thoughts on this combination and any other suggestions please

Thanks in advance :)

Sponsored Links
You can have a low pitch tiled roof in whatever tiles you like, if you board the roof and then felt it as per a flat roof, and then batten and tile the roof on top.

Or have a perimeter pitch to match the main roof, and flat roof in the center

If you don't mind it leaking.

You've had several weeks now since you became aware of this, and probably many years before that when you was training(?), and you've still not grasped it? :rolleyes:

You can't tell me that the rest of the UK knows about this, but it's yet to reach Plymouth? No way.

Sponsored Links
If you carry out the work in the way Woody suggests it may well keep the roof from leaking for a few years, BUT it will not stop the water from getting under the tiles and rotting away the battens the tiles are sitting on until they collapse and you have to strip it and start again.

Use a suitable product for the pitch.

If you read all the sales pitch and believe it then rubber is supposed to last 50yrs
and if you are going to put a green roof on top and protect it from uv rays
then I would go with rubber too.