New Loft light - need help on final hurdle!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

i hope someone can help - i'm fairly new to electrics but understand the basics and have done ALOT of reading/researching.

i have fitted a fluorescent light up in the loft and the plan was/is to change the landing switch to a 2 gang switch one still working the landing light and the other working the loft light.

i started following this guide (its really descriptive!)
http://www.diyfixit.co.uk/electrics/installing-a-fluorescent-tube-fitting-and-switch.html

however I'm a little unsure on determining which is the "live feed" to cut.

the most convenient one is the landing light which is a single spotlight however when checking the wiring this is what i've got.

their is a choc-block/terminal block with insulation tape on which has:

Cable From spotlight - brown & blue cable
Cable From Landing Switch - Red, Black, Earth (Red in L1, Black (with red tape on) in L2)
Cable From i'm assuming it's either the feed or downstairs switch as it's 2 way - Red, Black, Earth
Cable From Switch - single red cable (in Com)

in each terminal:
term1
landing switch cable (black), live feed or downstairs switch cable (black), spotlight (blue)
term2
all earth cables
term3
all red/live cables (except single red cable)
term4
spotlight cable (brown), single red cable from landing switch (wired in com)

i can attach pictures if it makes it easier but from what i've described will that cable be the feed or the cable connecting to the downstairs switch? (i think because its 2 way its throwing me)

can i cut that cable n add the junction box new switch n fluorescent lght as per tutorial, i did try taking apart term block and wiring to the junc box along with new switch and light but now both switch control both lights :(... well actually even the downstairs switch controls both lights!