1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

New power supply to garage

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by davecooper, 20 Jun 2018.

  1. davecooper

    davecooper

    Joined:
    18 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I want to run a new power supply to my garage which is about two metres from my house. The current supply is basically spurred from the kitchen ring, through the wall and then on to the garage via a catenary wire. The most it supplies is a freezer, a light and power hand tools. However, I have recently done away with my electric shower so now have a 30A supply going spare, (although it will be de-rated to 16A) which I would now like to use to feed the garage. The consumer unit is in a cupboard inside the house but mounted on an outside wall. I can thus take the new supply cable straight through the wall. However, I then need to get the cable to the garage which is probably 10 metres from the point where it comes through the wall. Burying the cable is not an option due to the type of drive and obstacles such as drains and steps. Therefore it will need to be clipped to the outside wall at a height of around 300mm and then run via a new catenary to the garage. The reason for the low run is that the house is predominantly pebble dashed with a 300mm bare brick skirt below this and I would rather clip to a flat solid surface than the potentially damaging and less stable pebble dash. My question is, what cable should I be using for this and should I be using conduit? Is there anything else I need to know? Thanks.
     
  2. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    28,431
    Thanks Received:
    3,055
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    There will be little advantage in doing as you propose.

    I suppose the present garage circuit is limited to 13A so 16A will not make much difference.
    Unless you mean there are no spare ways in the CU, the non-use of the shower is irrelevant.

    There is probably quite a lot more you need to know.
    The work will be notifiable to the Local Building Control so I would suggest that you discuss the matter with them or a registered electrician who can notify it for you and complete the necessary paperwork.
     
  3. davecooper

    davecooper

    Joined:
    18 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All I am saying is that there is now a spare way from t my CU which was not there before. I do not need a 30A supply to the garage so would change the breaker to 16A and select cable size accordingly. Running the garage supply from a dedicated circuit in the CU must be preferable to what I have now.
     
  4. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    1,667
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it aint broke, don't fix it and save some pennies.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. nickjb

    nickjb

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2008
    Messages:
    658
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is a benefit to having the garage on a separate RCD but if the shower is on the same RCD as the kitchen ring then there is little point in making the change.
     
  6. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,787
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you were to go to all the effort of moving the garage to a dedicated circuit, it would be stupidly short-sighted to do that.
     
  7. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    32,859
    Thanks Received:
    962
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ban is nothing if not polite and succinct.:)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page