New Roof Needed - What Should I Be Looking For?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a home owner and have a mid terraced Victorian house in London. The back roof needs replacing (over 100 years old, minor leaks). I've got four quotes but since I'm not an expert I don't know what I should be asking these guys, what material they should use etc. Can anyone help?

Some comments:
- All three quotes are from the FMB website so are registered roofers
- No obvious cost advantage of getting the front roof redone at the same time as different scaffolding
- Cost to upgrade from Spanish slate to Welsh slate seems very high

Any help much appreciated!

Here are the quotes:

Attachments

• Quote 1.jpg
    Quote 1.jpg
    94.4 KB · Views: 294
  • Quote 2.jpg
    Quote 2.jpg
    106.8 KB · Views: 302
  • Quote 3.jpg
    Quote 3.jpg
    182.5 KB · Views: 295
  • Quote 4.jpg
    Quote 4.jpg
    53.9 KB · Views: 289
Sponsored Links
Welsh slate is more expensive than Spanish anyway.
Remember Tyvek is a brand not a special product. One of your quotes comments that Tyvek has been omitted but the quote does say new Breathable membrane of which there are some very good ones.
A couple of them spec Cement fibre materials (note rivets) over Natural slate..
Advantage of doing both sides at the same time is you will only pay to have the ridge done once.
Questions to ask .. Spanish slate T1 S1 A1 W1 then a relatively safe bet. Site specific guarantee on the slate with a certificate. I

They dont appear to be quoting exactly the same.

Thanks and yes I agree they are not all the same and I don't know which one looks right!

My comment about Spanish slate vs Welsh slate yes I know Welsh is more expensive but I am being quoted £10k as an "upgrade fee" which doesn't sound right for an area of 3x x 6m. This means I am paying ~£15k just for tiles and when I look online Welsh tiles don't cost this much...

Sponsored Links