Oil fired boiler - HELP!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi

I'm running an old Perrymatic Jetstream MkII, ran out of oil.

Just had a new tank of delivered, I'm definitely getting oil and have bled the pump. I turned the power on at the wall and pressed the start up button on the front of the boiler:

pump starts, fan starts, system sparks and boiler fires up.

After a few minutes the flame goes out, but the fan is still running....and continues to run even when i turn the thing off on the wall and back on again.

Any ideas how I reset the boiler back to the the point at which I need to press the button? Or clues as to what's wrong?

Family freezing and desperately want to get the thing started!

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
What burner do you have on your boiler? If it is a Riello, then it may be the photo cell at fault. Let me know which burner and see if I can help.

Thanks for your reply.

I'm not entirely sure to be honest, I'm new to oil and don't really know what I'm looking at.

The box on the front says 'Mectron 3BM'. Is that any help?

Cheers

Sponsored Links
Ours took a few goes bleeding.

So should the fan still be running after the flame goes out? I just open the bleeding nipple again, wait for a steady flow and close it? In theory should the thing try and spark up again itself?

If you have an old perrymatic, could you run me through your start up procedure please? I'm new to this stuff am am pretty much guessing my way through the procedure...

Cheers

I think at this early stage it would be a good idea to disconnect the flexible oil line to the pump if you can, and allow a good litre of kero to flow into a container. Then, reconnect the pipe, double check for open tank valves and have another try.
Your burner is a Riello 3BM, usually in its own red box.
John :)