1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Old conduit-- Metric or Imperial??

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Hager, 17 Apr 2012.

  1. Hager

    Hager

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Would old conduit be in metric or imperial?? it looks about 25-32mm. It's sliver steel with red and black PVCS no CPC as conduit used for CPC. Pretty sure the cable is imperial.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    18,852
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Almost certainly imperial. Care to post a picture or two?

    What's the difference to you if it is imperial, or metric?
     
  4. Hager

    Hager

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I can do tomorrow, We had a raised floor thats being taken out so a flat one can be fitted. While ripping it up we've found a small adaptable box that has 8 lines of conduit running from it, i want to keep the 2 lenghts of conduit from the distro to resupply this room.
     
  5. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    7,440
    Thanks Received:
    721
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is there any brass male bushes used in the conduit system, during the change from inch imperial to 25mm metric , most manufacturers had small grooves cut into the edges of the bush to denote it was 25mm metric
     
  6. RF Lighting

    RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    19,151
    Thanks Received:
    1,235
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well you learn something every day! I knew about metric besa boxes having an 'M' on the back.

    OP do you have access to any threads anywhere?
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. Hager

    Hager

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Yes loads of the thing, well makes my job easier. i think they did yeah some of them mainly when it goes down to the main distribution.

    Yep i'm taking the lot out, but have to keep some to resupply. Although i've run in to a few problems now. Any thoughts on how to solve this very welcome, we have the new floor being laid down soon.
    1) One of the 20mm runs from the distro room to this room has had all the PVCS pulled out and i want to run some 2.5 twin in it.

    2) I tried feeding some 4mm Twin though and it got stuck and snapped the cable i was using to pull it though. (This is the 25-32mm Stuff.)

    Any ideas?

    I've added a picy of what it looks like. Just imagine it with a lot more cable in it. The two bottom feeds are from the distro room.

    [/img]
     
  9. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    7,440
    Thanks Received:
    721
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thought it was on the front of the spout so you can see it when screwed back on a wall
     
  10. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,784
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I take it you've got Imperial fittings, bender and die?


    I've got one - don't use T/E in conduit, that's not what it's for, it won't go through easily and you don't need to use it anyway.
     
  11. Hager

    Hager

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I like that one. It's just money that stops me, i've been told I'm not allowed it any more. Well I was getting through 3 drums and month. TBH thy don't understand why it's used anyway.

    I will have on Monday, trouble is I was told it's a very wide tool which is a problem for when you in confined space.

    Jake[/code]
     
  12. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page