Options for splitting T&E

Joined
23 Sep 2002
Messages
260
Reaction score
6
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I have a 2.5mm T&E cable which is on quite a tight run, ie no real slack in it. I want to run a spur off this, but a standard junction box won't work because there's not enough slack in the cable to feed it into the terminals. I don't have the option of replacing the cable either side without hours of additional work.

Wagos won't work for the same reason, particularly if they go in a Wago junction box which would seem sensible.

I'd really rather avoid the route of using two junction boxes with an additional length of cable between them - seems a real bodge.

Are there any other safe ways to effectively splice into a cable run?
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
4 Jan 2009
Messages
5,961
Reaction score
598
Location
Herefordshire
Country
United Kingdom
How about.

1. Using a junction box and only removing insulation, not cutting the copper?

2. Using crimps in an enclosure.
 
Joined
3 Nov 2006
Messages
27,269
Reaction score
2,999
Location
Bedfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
If the location is accesible for maintenance then one of these

https://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/ASJ401.html

can be fitted without cutting the conductors of the existing cable. Carefully removing the insulation is all that is needed. The earth conductor cannot be sleeved so would need the possibly dubious use of green-yellow tape.

edit fast typing Andy beat me
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
11 Jan 2004
Messages
39,695
Reaction score
2,010
Country
United Kingdom
How about.

1. Using a junction box and only removing insulation, not cutting the copper?

2. Using crimps in an enclosure.

This is how I used to do it.
If it was tight, I'd use a rectangular MK JB as well (in the days before MF).
 
Joined
27 Aug 2003
Messages
69,778
Reaction score
2,884
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
If there really is no slack then nothing which requires the conductors to be splayed will work unless you can introduce a gap.

Using some long DIN-rail through terminal blocks might be an answer - the outer terminals on some are a significant distance apart, e.g.

screenshot_753.jpg



I'd really rather avoid the route of using two junction boxes with an additional length of cable between them
That may be the only option, although each "junction box" could of course be a group of terminals, with all 6 in one enclosure.
 
Joined
23 Sep 2002
Messages
260
Reaction score
6
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks all for the replies, I'd forgotten about the MK rectangular box, which is unforgivable as I've used one in the past. Although they seem to have been discontinued :(

You've given me some great options - I've manage to free up maybe 15mm of slack in the cable, which should allow me to route the cable through a JB whilst only stripping the insulation.

Happy Days
Jim
 
Joined
20 Aug 2009
Messages
9,625
Reaction score
1,281
Location
Dorset
Country
United Kingdom
If you strip the cable without actually cutting it, be sure to work out where you will strip it - by lining the cable up with the junction box.

No shame in using two junction boxes.

If you use two junction boxes, consider running two cables to the new accessory, rather than it being a 'spur'.

(How do you get symbols on this forum now, since they messed around with it all a few months ago?? Thought an 'idea light bulb' symbol would have been good at the end of my post.)
 
Joined
27 Aug 2003
Messages
69,778
Reaction score
2,884
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
But sadly the rolling-eyes one shows as a coy flirt, rather than an exasperated FFS, which is what most people want it for.
 
Joined
20 Aug 2009
Messages
9,625
Reaction score
1,281
Location
Dorset
Country
United Kingdom
My reply box is completely blank. Doesn't have that 'toolbar'. Nor does it say 'Write your reply...'.

It does however have the options below the reply box (insert bookmarks, post reply, preview, upload a file, more options).

Seems a bit odd.
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top