Outdoor lights to mains socket?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm a newbie on the forum and not a clue about electrics so be gentle :D

I have done a search but thought I'd post to get an up to date answer. I want to add some outdoor lighting mainly for security purposes to both sides of my home.

What I'd really like to do is have these outdoor lights plug into mains sockets inside the house and garage. Reason being my home security system AlertMe has what they call SmartPlugs that can turn on and off what ever you plug into them based on other events.

First side: Has the attached garage on it that has the fuse box in and has 2 sockets on the inside of the external walls (sockets on rear wall...fusebox on side wall).
So I'd like to attach an outdoor light to this external side wall, its cable through the wall and with a normal 3 pin plug, plug this into my AlertMe SmartPlug which will be plugged into the existing garage socket.

So is this safe and would I need a particular type of cable as I want to attach a plug to it. :oops:

Second side: More awkward.....I think :oops: Kicthen/Utility side of the house. The Utility/Kitchen door is the area I want lit up. On one side of the door inside we have the gas bolier and the other we have Kitchen fridge what I would call hardwired in(no plug) and then counter surface with two sockets on the external wall further to the right is the gas hob.
So whats the best & safest option here.....could an electrician add a third socket here?

Rear: The rear of the house has a security light the builders put in and it runs to the swtich on the dining Room wall. Unfortunately they went and planted a great big tree in front of it so the PIR gets set off all the time when its windy.
Is it possible to change the switch to be a socket? So take the cable off the swtich and attached a plug and so I can use it with one of my smartplugs.