Oven not heating - struggling to find faulty part(s)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all. Have trawled the many threads with similar titles without success. Hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

Have a "Harrow HFM55B/2" oven that has stopped heating without warning.
Symptoms are ...
No power light.
No thermostat light.
No internal light.
Clock working.
Fan working (when multi switch is moved to an "on" position)

I have resistance checked the thermal switch, the thermostat switch and the main (bottom) element - all seem OK (though I am no expert with a multi meter).
Putting boiling water in the closed oven, the thermostat "clicks" after a minute or two to indicate it is detecting temperature increase.

I do want to repair this rather than fall back on throwing away a three year old oven both for cost and "environmental" reasons but also do not want to spend hundreds on parts that do not fix it and THEN throw it away.

Any ideas?
Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
You need to get it out (assuming it is built in) and get the covers off (disconnect from supply first, obviously!). It is possible that one of the phase links has come loose (loads of ovens have options for running on multiphase supplies in different countries, domestic ovens in the UK would all have these linked across). Or there may be a thermal fuse on the supply to elements (resettable if you're lucky). No way of telling without getting your hands dirty

Thanks. Unit is out of housing and back & top are off (so I could test thermal switch etc). I'll have a look to see if I can see anything along the lines you suggest.
Any advice on how I might detect any of the problems you have mentioned?

Make sure the unit is disconnected from the mains before you start prodding it with a meter (or your fingers). Disconnected preferably meaning airgapped or both poles isolated and such isolation tested with a known good tester.