Part P - Semantics

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm hoping some of you can clarify something for Me. A bit of background, I am qualified to BS7671 and have a background in electrical design within industry. I am not a domestic electrician and hence my question regarding Part P relating to a job at home.

I had a shed at my property which I pulled down and replaced with a garage. The shed had a supply which came from a B32 breaker (RCD protected). Feeding some T&E which leaves the house and threads up the garden through the hedge (!!) to a JB in the shed which fed a lamp and a double socket.

I've designed new final radials for a new lamp and a couple of sockets from a sub board and 4mm SWA feeding back to the house. Happy with all of that.

I'm then planning to terminate the SWA in a new J/B inside the house and connect to the existing B32 using the existing 4mm T&E which looks ok. Then grab the Megger from work and perform the relevant tests and complete the Installation Condition report.

My question is around peoples views on whether this is a 'new circuit' and notifiable under Part P; which is the part I cannot do. I'm currently giving myself arguments either way so require some better experienced folk to make sense of it.

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
I believe notifiable work includes additions to existing circuits in kitchens, bathrooms, outdoors.......

If thats the case, it wouldnt matter if what you are doing is new circuit or not.

But Im not a electrician so best wait for a pro to come along......

No, in England, it's much narrower than that:

(a) new circuits
(b) replacement of consumer unit
(c) addition or alterations to existing circuits in a special location.

As far as a domestic dwelling goes, "special location" means within the zones in a bathroom, or, if you are lucky enough to live in that sort of house, in a room containing a swimming pool or sauna heater.