Phase Neutral Reverse Fault on Kitchen socket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a strange problem with some sockets in my kitchen and was wondering whether anyone can shed some light on was is occuring.

I have a "master" twin socket that has a "slave" single socket. Both sockets are in the kitchen and on the inside wall facing the garden. The single socket was put in about 3 years ago when I had the kitchen refurbished, the twin socket has been there for at least 20 years. Both sockets are flush "in" the wall, with the plastic face-plates extruding out.

I have a Martindale socket tester and a electric tester screwdriver.

Ok, I have unscrewed the master socket plate from the wall and it is fine and the socket tester states it is wired correctly for both sockets. If I touch the electric tester screwdriver on its metal back box, it shows no current. There is a slave 3 core wire that is connected to the earth, neutral, live connectors of this twin socket. It is going up out of this metal back box into the wall, I believe trunked over the outside kitchen door, and then going into the "slave" single socket. Of course this is all in the wall so I'm not 100% sure how it gets there. (I vaguely recall seeing the wiring trunked into the wall when the refurb took place).

If I touch the electric tester screwdriver on the single socket metal back box, it shows a current. In fact earth, live and neutral on the socket are showing current. If I use an electric socket tester with the single socket front switch in the off position, the socket tester shows the middle light is on. If I turn the single socket front switch on, 2 lights on the socket tester turn on, which indicates a phase/neutral reverse fault.

If I disconnect the "slave" cable from the master twin socket, all current from the single socket is gone. This is how I have left it, in the disconnected state.