Plastering over the top of bathroom tiles.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Is this possible?

I was talking to a customer the other day. He has just had a new bathroom fitted. He said the plasterers skimmed straight on top of the ceramic tiles.

How does it bond. Surely it will all fall off.

Anyone hear or done it before.

Sponsored Links
can only have been by using WBA or the likes which has a grit in it.

i've heard it said that it can be done but couldn't quite imagine it, there would be ZERO suction and not sure how troweling finish with no suction goes, you'd be there all day.

There's been many an argument here on this subject. I've alway been against plastering over old tiles,, i think the job should be done properly, by removing the tiles, then plaster the walls.

i have worked with a builder before who was a plasterer by trade (allegedly) and he told me of a time he pva'd and then threw sand into it on tiles to skim over the next day.

Sponsored Links
i have worked with a builder before who was a plasterer by trade (allegedly) and he told me of a time he pva'd and then threw sand into it on tiles to skim over the next day.

It would work right enough, but i've alway thought it was a lazy, bodge way of working,,,, and imagine trying to fix something to the wall. This'll start the argument off all over again. :LOL:

u apply pva sand and cement slurry coat to them first to give it a key. I think its a right crap way of doing it i always take the tiles off or knock hollows into the tiles and then dab boards over the top

Plastering over ceramic tiles would have to be the absolutely last resort.

It is a bodge.

However, if the customer is skint, wants little mess, is not worried about losing space and the tiles have been rendered-on (like in old fashioned sculleries and are bombproof) then there are ways to plaster over tiles.

I would not encourage this method and the tiles would have to be seriously stuck.