Please help - Vokera boiler barely working.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I have a vokera compact combi that's barely working at the moment. When the heating is on the boiler fires up and stays on for about 60secs but then strangely thinks the rads are up to temp and goes into its dormant mode, a short while later it comes back on and shuts off again after roughly 60secs. The hot water out pipe is very hot to touch so the boiler is heating the water but somehow thinks the rads are up to temperature when in reality they are lukewarm downstairs and have barely any heat in them upstairs. I have the bolier set at full tilt and all the downstairs rads open. There is no air in the downstairs rads as i bled them all tonight to try and fix.

I'm no expert in this area but could there be a block in the system and the boiler shuts off for safety after trying to get the hot water out to the rads ?

Any ideas greatly appreciated as we have a cold house and sad family atm :(

Cheers,
Mike.

Sponsored Links
There is a limited or restricted flow.

Being a budget boiler most owners don't pay to have them properly fitted onto a cleaned system.

Tony

Sponsored Links
Thanks guys - some further information :-

The pump is a grundfoss up 15-50 about 10years old as is the boiler itself, is there a way to see if the pump is failing ? I'd be fairly certain the boiler wont have been fitted onto a cleaned system either.

It could be a bit chicken and egg in that the pump might work on a cleaned system and an new pump might have enough power to help alleviate the (partial blockage) ?

Cheers.

Nothing to do with it. There is a Compact, a Compact SE, a Compact HE and a Compact A.

Yours sounds like the original Compact. Get an engineer in or phone Vokera who will do a fixed price repair. 08443910999 customer service.

Can't be that dirty, the boiler's lasted 10 years.

Yes that's right its the compact 28. So this model wouldn't suffer with the aps / venturi fan issue.