1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Power socket off a light switch ?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by miketurner, 6 Jan 2020.

  1. miketurner

    miketurner

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    I had an electrician fit an outside light with an on/off switch in the meter cupboard some time ago. I would now like to fit a power socket next to it in the same meter cupboard.

    Is it possible to attach an additional power socket from this switch/ so I can power a Nest Hello doorbell using an 18v plug in power adaptor that Nest recommend, or is there such a thing as switch (similar to cooker switch) that can be a switch and a plug in power socket which may replace my existing on/off switch ?

    Any ideas would be appreciated, thanks.

    Please see photos
    The outside like supply comes out from the left of the consumer box in the trunking.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: 6 Jan 2020
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    35,449
    Thanks Received:
    3,968
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes, it is possible.

    No, there is no such switch as you ask about - although there doesn't appear to be room for it.
     
  4. miketurner

    miketurner

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi EFL

    Thanks for the info, hopefully someone can give me a few details on how ?
     
  5. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    35,449
    Thanks Received:
    3,968
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
  6. miketurner

    miketurner

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi EFL

    Many thanks for the diagram, (I'm impressed). Thanks.
     
  7. Sureitsoff?

    Sureitsoff?

    Joined:
    27 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    645
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,396
    Thanks Received:
    493
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you want a power socket in the meter cupboard take it from a power circuit in the adjacent consumer unit. Putting a power socket on the lighting circuit is bad practice and absolutely pointless when a power circuit is next to it. Think what would happen if someone pulled out your doorbell and plugged in a heater if it was on the lighting circuit.

    MOD: Tiresome.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 6 Jan 2020
  9. Keithmac

    Keithmac

    Joined:
    10 Oct 2017
    Messages:
    1,839
    Thanks Received:
    298
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Heating up his meter cupboard?.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    4,317
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I hope I don't upset too many when I make this comment: I hate to admit it but on this occasion I have to agree with Winston, not because it's bad practice perse but simply because it's likely to be just as easy to do it differently and then the socket will be available for anything.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    35,449
    Thanks Received:
    3,968
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    If it is not bad practice, which it is not, then there is no reason not to do it.

    It might not be just as easy for the OP to go into the Consumer Unit.


    There is nothing wrong with what is being proposed.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,378
    Thanks Received:
    1,832
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The 2kW heater would draw about 8 amps, which is not enough to ever trip a 6A circuit breaker.
    The result is that the doorbell would not work, and the heater would get hot.
     
  14. miketurner

    miketurner

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for all your advice and suggestions. The only reason I was thinking of using the existing on/off switch is that I feel that wiring into the consumer unit might be a bit much for me to tackle, as I'm not sure what would be involved. I will have a look online to see what is involved. Thanks again.
     
  15. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    24,565
    Thanks Received:
    2,404
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I agree, Thank you.
     
  16. miketurner

    miketurner

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Winston

    I looked online and I see that any work done on the consumer unit would need a certificate and would need an electrician, which would seem too costly for me.

    My outside LED light is on for a couple of hours a night. It's a Philips LED 6w light. With an on/off switch wired directly to the consumer unit by a local electrician a year ago, so I think it has been done correctly and not on a lighting circuit.

    The Nest doorbell can be wired in directly and needs 10.8 to 30 V AC (I think the existing wiring in the on/off switch would be too high (I'm guessing 220v). But if plugged into a transformer (Nest recommended) it will then use 12 to 24 V AC so I'm thinking the simplest job would be to get the transformer and wire it into the existing on/off switch.

    Do you still think there could be problems in doing it this way, by wiring off the existing switch ?
    as it seems I maybe allowed to do it this way without any necessary paperwork/certificates etc.

    Your help is much appreciated.
     
  17. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    35,449
    Thanks Received:
    3,968
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    It's not help.

    Winston has several bees in his bonnet which are without foundation.

    One of which is connecting a socket to a lighting circuit - which is allowed.
     
Loading...

Share This Page