Problem with Hotpoint Fridge Freezer

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Got back from the birth of our baby girl today to find out the fridge section of the fridge-freezer is not very cold at all. It feels like it would if the power was off for a day or so.

The freezer section still seems to be frozen and there are the usual noises coming from it.

Does anyone know of anything to check with these, or is anyone on this forum a service engineer? (perhaps in Surrey - and interested in some beer money? )

Sponsored Links
I'm not a refrigeration engineer and I'm not sure about your model.
However, if your machine takes cold air from the freezer to cool the fridge (a lot of frost free machines do this) then you're looking at an ice build up preventing air getting to the fridge or a faulty "baffle" not opening to allow air into the fridge.
If you can, defrost the appliance for at least 24 hours with the doors open. After this, switch it back on and see if it starts working again.
If it does, all well and good.
If the problem then returns it would suggest a problem with the automatic defrost.
Hope this helps.

assuming its a single compressor and the fridge is underneath
it could be short of gas how old is it!!!!

like sleepy head i am no expert ;)

hi, thanks for the replies
Its a FFM90 Frost Free with the freezer section at the bottom.
I have had the unit for 2.5 years now..

i'll give the defrosting a go and see what happenes.

The fridge has a display on it and for the past 12 hours is has shown that it is cooling down to 4 degrees.
The display doesn't show the actual temperature, just if it is cooling or warming to meet the temperature that has been chosen.

Sponsored Links
is it ok to aid defrosting using a hair dryer?
or will the warmth cause any damage?

I was thinking of pointing the dryer up the vents in the back panel of the freezer section..