Regulations?????

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Just wondering if anyone can help me out, I am a electrician in the industrial sense, its been a few years sinse i did any major domestic installation other than my own and familys little jobs. However i am looking to get back into it. I am I have my 16th and C&G in inspecion and testing, what other certification to i need to get partP standardised?
I dont want to be another cowboy out there, theres plenty already, so i want to make sure i'm fully qualified before i get stuck in.

Cheers.

Sponsored Links
The quickest way I know of is the EAL Domestic Installer Level 2 Qualification. This can be done as a 5 day intensive course for somewhere between £700 and £800. You'll need to invest in Part P test kit - another £400 min - and then pay the £400 or so it costs to get accepted by 1 of the 5 competent person schemes (yes, believe it or not - the NIC aren't the only ones! :) ) Most schemes have a 4 to 5 week lead time for the assessment.

Even though it is advertised as such, the EAL course will not turn a layman into a ready made domestic spark but it does give a competent lec, like yourself, the knowledge of domestic supplies, part P and all the other Building Regs, needed to give an unassailable service to domestic customers.

TTFN

One other thing if anyone can help, once i've done the courses and passed and been accreditted etc. Is there an annual/or whenever, fee to remain part P registered like the corgi is for gas fitters.

Sponsored Links
To be able to self-certify that your work complies with the building regulations you need to join one of the organisations (NICEIC, Elecsa, NAPIT, etc...). There is an annual assessment and an annual membership fee. So, yes, you do keep paying. But membership is (or should be) about much more than just self-certifying.

Check out the websites - they're all listed in the 'New rules...' leaflet:

http://www.planningportal.gov.uk/england/professionals/en/4000000001323.html