Replace 2 Way Switch with 2 Way Dimmer (Lightwave)

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Steve UK, 22 Jun 2018.

  1. Steve UK

    Steve UK

    Joined:
    22 Jun 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I currently have two light switches in my lounge. These switches control 2 lights. Either switch can be used to turn both lights on/off at the same time.

    I have attached images of the wiring within each box.

    I'm trying to replace these switches with a Lightwave master/slave combo.

    These are the products:
    Master - https://www.lightwaverf.com/lighting/11533779860
    Slave - https://www.lightwaverf.com/lighting/11533805140

    I've also attached an image of the Lightwave wiring (from the instuctions).

    I've been trying to figure out how to wire this up for hours without any joy. If anyone could shed any light, it would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    75,021
    Thanks Received:
    4,349
    Location:
    Crossgates, Europe
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Do the instructions include an alternative diagram for wiring in a typical UK installation? The diagram you show will not work with most 2-way lighting.
     
  4. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Look again at the back boxes.

    Then the orientation of the brown & blue conductors in the bits of choc.

    Then you too can sit there thinking "WTF is going on there?"


    Looks fine for the very common scenario of a switch drop to one 2-way switch, and a 3-C&E strapper to another 2-way....
     
  5. Steve UK

    Steve UK

    Joined:
    22 Jun 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the replies.

    Unfortunately not - I'm hoping someone might know what's going on with the wiring and be able to suggest an alternative arrangement.

    Thanks!
     
  6. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,615
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  7. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why do people keep saying this?

    Switch drop with live and switched live to a switch, 3C+E linking that to another switch:

    upload_2018-6-23_13-24-22.png



    Switch drop with live and switched live to a switch, 3C+E linking that to another switch:

    upload_2018-6-23_13-21-43.png
     
  8. Steve UK

    Steve UK

    Joined:
    22 Jun 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks ban-all-sheds.

    So do you think it can be done with the wiring I currently have? What do I need to connect to what in order for this to work?

    One thing to note is the "signal" can only take 12v rather than 240v.

    Something else I don't understand is if I connect the two brown wires in switch 1, the black wire in switch 1 and 2 both become live, but they don't seem to illuminate the screwdriver as much as the brown wires?

    Thanks
     
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    10,082
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Throw that away, it is misleading and dangerous.
     
  11. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,778
    Thanks Received:
    4,246
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    I'm not sure. It would appear not.
    It appears that one of the wires needed for the new switches, the grey, is being used for the Neutral.
    That is - you have the supply Line(live) and Neutral at one end and the light at the other

    So, you need to determine - with a proper tester - which is the supply Line(live) and which is the supply Neutral by testing when the wire is not connected to anything else.

    It may be that someone has done something unusual or unnecessary and it could be altered.
    Can we have a picture of the wiring at the light - the one with more than one cable to it (assuming something else strange has not been done)?
     
  12. Steve UK

    Steve UK

    Joined:
    22 Jun 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sure, here you go. It appears to just be 2 lengths of twin & earth. Can anything be done?

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  13. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's looking like Plan A/Plan B time...

    You basically have to choose between Plan A and Plan B.

    PLAN A:
    PLAN B:
    • Get an electrician.
    There are some irresponsible people here who will tell you that there is a Plan C, which is to start trying different things without really knowing what's going on, hoping to get it working by luck, or by blindly following instructions to put-this-wire-in-that-hole without any idea as to why. Please don't listen to them - you must know what, and truly understand what, you are doing.

    Electrical-installation-by-guesswork is a foolish idea.

    There is no Plan C for anybody sensible
     
  14. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,778
    Thanks Received:
    4,246
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    It doesn't look like it.

    Not without having another wire, either -
    between the switches, or
    between the switch where the supply is and the pictured light.
     
  15. Steve UK

    Steve UK

    Joined:
    22 Jun 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Looks like I'll be returning the switches as I don't want this to become a massive job.

    I've learnt a bit along the way so it hasn't been a completely futile exercise!

    Thanks everyone for the advice.
     
  16. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page