replace extractor fan

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by inspectorgadget123, 27 May 2009.

  1. inspectorgadget123

    inspectorgadget123

    Joined:
    11 Apr 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    as above i have replaced an extractor fan in the downstairs toilet, does this need to be isolated to comply with current regulations or is a like for like swap ok ?

    it runs of the lighting circuit and is a timed one
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ColJack

    ColJack

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    11,795
    Thanks Received:
    410
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes it needs an isolator for mechanical maintainance. 3 pole fan isolator.
     
  4. inspectorgadget123

    inspectorgadget123

    Joined:
    11 Apr 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    electrician has told me an isolator is not needed for a downstaires toilet only in bathrooms. ?

    is this true
     
  5. ColJack

    ColJack

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    11,795
    Thanks Received:
    410
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no, and yes, it depends on the fan..

    if it's a fan without an overrun timer it can be wired to a double pole light switch which acts as the isolator.
    if it's a fan with an overrun timer and therefore a permanent supply to it then yes it needs a 3 pole isolator, otherwise you'd turn the light switch off and may not realise that one of the wires is still live..
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And even then if the room has no natural light, how are you going to carry out maintenance?
     
  8. inspectorgadget123

    inspectorgadget123

    Joined:
    11 Apr 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    had a sparky round today , they now seem to think i need to put a fcu as well as the isolator surly that is the point of the isolator to kill power for N L SL ??
     
  9. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why not just let the electrician get on with it?
     
  10. Spark123

    Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,841
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The FCU incorporates a Fuse.
    A 3 pole isolator doesn't.
     
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page