Replace one way switch with PIR

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a standard pull cord light switch in the bathroom which I want to replace with a PIR switch. I bought a PIR from Screwfix (item 80538) which uses a neutral, earth, live 1 and live 2. However, there is a 3 core cable going to the old switch - I assume they are earth, live and neutral. Is there a PIR that can can be used to replace a one-way switch?

As you can tell I am not very experienced with electics but I thought I could manage to change a switch. :confused:

Sponsored Links
However, there is a 3 core cable going to the old switch - I assume they are earth, live and neutral
You assume wrongly! They are Live, switched live, and earth!

You need a PIR that does not require a neutral.

Thanks Steve. Makes sense. Is there a common name for such PIRs? I mean, how do I find out if a PIR needs a neutral or not?

Are you sure you want a PIR to control your bathroom light?

I don't see the point as the light may go off after so long when you're sat on the toilet reading, for example.

Also, by replacing the pull switch with a PIR would mean you couldn't easily change the lamp, unless you turn off at the mains.

You could fit an isolation switch of some kind.

PIRs are available in wall mounted form, or you can get a 360 degree ceiling PIR. Check suitability for bathroom.

I would say just about all PIRs require a neutral, so some rewiring may be needed.

It is common to use 1.0 or 1.5 mm flat 3 core and earth cable when fitting PIRs. This cable will provide
PERMANENT LIVE usually brown
SWITCHED LIVE usually black sleeved brown
NEUTRAL usually grey sleeved blue
EARTH

Be careful when identifying different core colours.
Remember a black wire isn't always neutral. Etc.

Don't cut out any earth wires. Sleeve with green and yellow.

Work safely.
If in any doubt seek help.

Sponsored Links