Replacing a consumer unit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I would like some basic advice on replacing a consumer unit. I am an electrical engineer, but not a qualified electrician, so I am not familiar with the regs, nor with working practices.

When replacing a consumer unit how is the incoming main isolated? Presumably it's not just rubber gloves.

My son knows an electrician who can test and certify after the event, but I am wondering if it's feasible to do this work myself?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
You cant really do the job without the use of some proper calibrated test equipment. The installation needs testing beforehand to show up any herrings, red or otherwise. You may have issues with neutral to earth faults which will be very inconveinient when the consumer unit has been installed and you cant reset an RCD. You also need to check for borrowed neutrals on lighting circuits, and finally, the LABC fee's may cost more than getting a spark in.

t I am wondering if it's feasible to do this work myself?
Highly unlikely.

Replacing a CU is notificable work, which is likely to incur LABC fees of £100 - £300 in most areas.
Getting someone to test afterwards is no use, since all of the circuits must be inspected and tested before they are connected to the new CU.
For virtually all CU replacements, there will be other remedial works to do. These will probably take longer than replacing the CU itself.

Sponsored Links
As ever, personal recommendations are always the best way to find a reputable tradesman, but if you're having to go ahead without much in the way of those, or references, don't put any store by registration itself - sadly it is possible to become registered with woefully inadequate qualifications and zero practical experience.

Like never having replaced a CU, for example.