1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Replacing a Drayton LP522/DigistatSCR with a Hive

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Haywire678, 25 Oct 2021.

  1. Haywire678

    Haywire678

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello all. I was after some advice about installing a Hive to replace a Drayton LP522/DigistatSCR controlling a Vaillant Ecotech Plus 630.

    The current wiring seems to just have N (blue), L (brown), 3 (grey), and 4 (black) connected.

    Do I need to make any changes or add any links to get this working?

    I am unsure how the LP522 wiring is connected to the DigistatSCR and how to disable it.

    Thanks in advance.

    Haywire678


    Drayton_diagram.jpeg Drayton_connections.jpeg Hive.png
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Haywire678

    Haywire678

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I found this rather useful video on YouTube.



    It looks like I do not need to alter the connections in the baseplate, but will need to find the additional junction box (probably in the roof space), disconnect the wired DigistatSCR, and short two of the terminals, or just transfer one wire to a new terminal pin.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,133
    Thanks Received:
    2,462
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, seems like you’ve figured it out.
     
  5. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,599
    Thanks Received:
    9,778
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just join wires in 1&3 at the scr, isolate everything safely, no need to go into the loft
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. Haywire678

    Haywire678

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ian, just to clarify, I should put a link wire between terminals 1 and 3 on the back plate in my second diagram?
     
  8. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,599
    Thanks Received:
    9,778
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No 1+3 when you remove the SCR
     
  9. Haywire678

    Haywire678

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Ian. Now I understand.
    By the way, does anybody make a junction box that connects to a back plate?
    It would be quite useful if you could do the wiring in the junction box and then just clip it onto the backplate.
    That way if you needed to go back to the old system you could just take the junction box off and clip in the SCR.
     
  10. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,599
    Thanks Received:
    9,778
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just join the wires in a terminal strip, isolate , tuck into the back box and fit a blanking plate, or if you cant be bothered put both wires in the same terminal on the SCR and refit it , does the same thing
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page