1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Replacing veritas keypad

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by houstonwehaveaproblem, 22 Feb 2019.

  1. houstonwehaveaproblem

    houstonwehaveaproblem

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my neighbours veritas r8 keypad is defective. Ond if the buttons no longer works. Just do happens its one of the access code buttons!

    I have the code but how do I change the keypad without the alarm activating?

    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,296
    Thanks Received:
    245
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you now the code simply down power the alarm and replace the keypad.
    Depends on how old the existing keypad is,you may need to replace the whole keypad including the back plate or you could just get away with replacing the front section of the keypad.
    Power system back up and enter code and press reset.
     
  4. houstonwehaveaproblem

    houstonwehaveaproblem

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Will the bell box not sound?
     
  5. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,135
    Thanks Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why will it sound ?
     
  6. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    3,530
    Thanks Received:
    419
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    buttons and membrane search for dca-0015 if buttons defective, available on ebay
     
  7. houstonwehaveaproblem

    houstonwehaveaproblem

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That was the question
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,135
    Thanks Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Alarm will only sound IF SET !.....or if down-powered / bell cable cut / bell fuse blown ( if wired correctly and stab unit healthy) ....are you going to do any of the following ?
     
  10. houstonwehaveaproblem

    houstonwehaveaproblem

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks
    Not planning to.
     
  11. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    3,530
    Thanks Received:
    419
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sparkymarka, that's not strictly true.

    The veritas can be programmed to bell on tamper, although it rarely is programmed that way.
    The internal speaker /sounder will activate whether or not.
    It is also possible that the tamper engineer reset is programmed again this is not usually done.
    Also possible the Engineers code is locked, this is certainly more commonly done.(defaulting should be a last resort just in case this option is enabled).

    There are ways around this but its a very specific sequence and depends on what bell you have and how it is wired.
     
  12. houstonwehaveaproblem

    houstonwehaveaproblem

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks

    Is it better i look for a new membrane just to be safe?
     
  13. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    3,530
    Thanks Received:
    419
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You have to open the keypad to disconnect it or replace the membrane, the only advantage is you are unlikely to short anything out replacing the membrane as you don't have to disconnect any cables other than unplugging the ribbon.

    It would be very unlucky that the engineer has set it up as I describe but its not impossible, personally I would pen the keypad up and swap the membrane, and silnce with your user code, if that doesn't silence the alarm and you can here the keys responding then post on here.
     
  14. houstonwehaveaproblem

    houstonwehaveaproblem

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks
     
  15. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page