ring main

M

madmax1970

Hi need advice on installing 15 sockets as a ring main,
ie - size of fuse needed think 34 amp
is there a distance the wire clips have to be apart,
i know they are just linked from one to the other and then back to the fuse box, and i have done a 4 socket ring but just wondered if it was the same, diagram if anyone can help many thanks
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
19 Jan 2007
Messages
4,289
Reaction score
394
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
:rolleyes:




30 amp circuit breaker, run in 2.5mm TE.

Surface cabling, clip every hammers length. Or trunking, or drop under floor.



I would suggest you read the site wiki, uk electrics since your posts suggests that you really don't have much knowledge.
Do you know what:-

Part p is
Safe zones for cable
Testing
Design
Safety

Etc

electrics:socket_circuits:ringcct.jpg
 
Joined
4 Jan 2004
Messages
4,020
Reaction score
597
Country
United Kingdom
Hi need advice on installing 15 sockets as a ring main,
ie - size of fuse needed think 34 amp
Good luck in finding one.
is there a distance the wire clips have to be apart,
If you mean support clips - yes there is.
i know they are just linked from one to the other and then back to the fuse box,
No you are totally wrong I'm afraid.
and i have done a 4 socket ring but just wondered if it was the same, diagram if anyone can help many thanks
What were your test results? You will have done that one wrong as well I expect.
Ignore the diagram shown above. Except in very special circumstances it is wrong and should not be used.
I would suggest you stop what you are doing because you haven't really got a clue what you are doing now or have been doing in the past.
Why not get someone in who knows how to correctly design, install and test the new installation. That person can also keep you legal by notifying your Local Authority Building Control of the new work conducted.
 
Joined
19 Jan 2007
Messages
4,289
Reaction score
394
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Ignore the diagram shown above. Except in very special circumstances it is wrong and should not be used.

It's not HE, so what is wrong with the diagram (other than the jb on the spur not being marked as required in an accessable location).

I feel fine today, although I did knock a few single malts last night. If I've had a blonde moment please explain why the diagram (from the DIYNot wiki) is wrong?

Or have you mistaken it for a HE ring?
 
Sponsored Links
M

madmax1970

its not in a house , its in my garage and i have a general knowledge on electrics, am not saying i am qualified that why am asking for advice,
i went to college for city and guilds 236 about 6 years ago and have forgot a few bits has not done it since then was there,
so wot did i get wrong cheers,
and just looked at my post and ment to say 30 amp
I also knew there was a distance between clips but couldnt remember just how far i worked out about 12" but just wanted to be safe
 
M

madmax1970

The Diagram u posted looks like wot i was thinking,
cheers for help m8


Ignore the diagram shown above. Except in very special circumstances it is wrong and should not be used.

It's not HE, so what is wrong with the diagram (other than the jb on the spur not being marked as required in an accessable location).

I feel fine today, although I did knock a few single malts last night. If I've had a blonde moment please explain why the diagram (from the DIYNot wiki) is wrong?

Or have you mistaken it for a HE ring?
 
Joined
19 Jan 2007
Messages
4,289
Reaction score
394
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
In a garage with block construction it will be easier to trunk the cabling than clip.

Why do you need 15 sockets in a garage :eek:
 
M

madmax1970

Its a breeze block garage and am gonna plaster board it out in to a gym with running machine, tv and other stuff so just wanted loads ov sockets,, so i could have less just thought more in case needed em
In a garage with block construction it will be easier to trunk the cabling than clip.

Why do you need 15 sockets in a garage :eek:
 
Joined
4 Jan 2004
Messages
4,020
Reaction score
597
Country
United Kingdom
its not in a house , its in my garage and i have a general knowledge on electrics, am not saying i am qualified that why am asking for advice,
i went to college for city and guilds 236 about 6 years ago and have forgot a few bits has not done it since then was there,
so wot did i get wrong cheers,
and just looked at my post and ment to say 30 amp
I also knew there was a distance between clips but couldnt remember just how far i worked out about 12" but just wanted to be safe
Where is your additional protection?
This work is notifiable who will do that for you?
How do you intend to prove that the circuit meets current testing criteria?
 
Joined
19 Jan 2007
Messages
4,289
Reaction score
394
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Where's the additional protection?
Last time I checked the live/live went to the same mcb.

Tenuous :D

I think the diagram makes a gentle assumption that because is is a ring circuit peeps would understand that the circuit ends terminate on the same mcb, same earth point and same neutral.

As mentioned it was pulled from the wiki, maybe you'd like to redraw it and ask admin to post the more precise drawing on the wiki.
 
Joined
28 Jul 2006
Messages
21,418
Reaction score
2,356
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Hey, Madmax.

While the girls have their squabble, perhaps I can ask you a simple question.

The cable that goes to your gym/garage. Where does that originate from

Is it a separate feed from the fuseboard (inwhich case, what size mcb is on the feed to the garage)
or
is it spurred from a socket circuit on the house? If so, is there a fused connection unit with a 13A fuse in it?

Thanks
 
Joined
4 Jan 2004
Messages
4,020
Reaction score
597
Country
United Kingdom
I don't think that the drawing failing to indicate the need to have RCD protection (except in very specific circumstances) is tenuous.

You yourself identified that the OP's lack of knowledge was an issue - re-enforced a little later when the OP states that that is how he would wire the circuit - i.e. without RCD protection. To me that raises that giant flag that for this OP, even with some knowledge, you should not assume anything.

Furthermore, the OP has indicated his believe that a 30Amp (I know he said 34Amp - typo we assume), which would tend to suggest that he may have the old wylex semi-rewireable fuse board - to which RCD's cannot be added.

At least you raised the main issues with him - but it seems to go over his head - As for Donrkebab asking why the drawing was wrong, perhaps his knowledge of ring final circuit design is even less than his knowledge of lighting circuit design.
 
Joined
15 Apr 2012
Messages
507
Reaction score
35
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
As for Donkeybab asking why the drawing was wrong, perhaps his knowledge of ring final circuit design is even less than his knowledge of lighting circuit design.

Insults and more insults, but you can't explain what is wrong with the drawing because of your lack of experience and desire to be aggressive and insulting.

But I will help you out, the drawing is called a block diagram i.e. it gives an overview of what connects to what. It does not detail actual connections because that would only be shown on a schematic diagram.

I hope you've learnt something today. :) but due to your adverse comments about lighting circuits looping in at switches, it would seem you are too thick to be educated. :)
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top