router question please.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Sorry if this pops up twice but I thought I had posted this earlier but I can't see it now!
I am new to woodworking (I've only made a work bench so far!) but I am just getting a couple of power tools together. When it comes to routers will there be any advantages/disadvantages for me if I chose a palm router?
(ah, I didn't put a title on the first attempt!)

Sponsored Links
Love my palm router. Great for all sorts of jobs and easy to weild. Still need a big plunge router as well, though.

thanks Nick. I've seen a Bosch palm router that looks handy. I don't expect to be doing anything too heavy at this stage. Just decorative things really.

to be honest the router is the cheap part the cutters the router table the router mat the clamps all add up

a small router is great for basic molding but anything bigger requires a 1/2" router
and the biggest off all cutters require a router table
so for a basic set up the router and cutters are about equal to each other

what projects do you have in mind for you router

Sponsored Links
Hi, at the moment I'm trying to put a work bench together without the aid of a work bench! Just 4x4 legs and 4x2's. So funny you should mention clamps as I need to buy a couple. Firstly to clamp the 4x2's for cutting with the circular. Then for further projects. So any advice you could offer on choosing what type clamps I need would be good.

As for the router. My first project is simple, an open towel cabinet for the bathroom wall. So with that I would like to round off the front edges on the 8"x1" boards. And sort out a simple moulding for around the top which I could router from 2"x1". After that it would be simple cabinets and shelves.

all my pine furniture gets a 1/8"-3.2mm ovolo with a 1mm querk[step] on all exposed edges as standard

i would start with a couple off 6"/ 150mm solo clamps axminster do them for around £6 each

i have around 20 6" and 15 4" clamps