1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Router upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by blup, 3 May 2018.

  1. blup

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    508
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe my WEP router is vulnerable in terms of its security, and it should be upgraded to WPA.

    Do I need to do this through the ISP, is it a case of tweaking the existing router, or can I just buy something suitable from PC World, and what would that be?

    Cheers,

    Blup
     
  2. flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    7,450
    Thanks Received:
    1,340
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WEP has been obsolete and insecure for more than a decade.
    Just how old is this router? Make and model?
     
  3. Iamchamps

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2016
    Messages:
    541
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As far as I know all ISPs supply a modem/router combo as standard now with wpa security as standard. If yours is old contact your ISP and ask for a upgrade they will probably send you a replacement for free.
     
  4. blup

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    508
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Flameport:

    O2 Wireless Box II - which google says is a customized version of Thomson SpeedTouch TG585 v7 wireless router, configured to access O2’s ADSL 2+ broadband network.

    Have had it about 12 years

    Lamchamps:

    O2 were bought out by Sky and I want to avoid a 45 minute hard sell which I believe I will get if I ring Sky - assuming I don't get through to someone helpful.

    Blup
     
  5. Astra99

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    763
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you know the username and password which is used to log on to your ISP's network, plus the type of connection your ISP uses (PPOA/PPOE, VPI/VCI, and Encapsulation), then you should be able to buy and configure any router for ADSL 2+. Unfortunately there are too many variable to give a definitive answer, but certainly, 12 years ago I would expect you were supplied with a card giving your Broadband User Name and Password.
     
  6. mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,396
    Thanks Received:
    249
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Call your ISP and ask for a replacement router.
    If they say no or are wanting to charge you for it then ask to be put through to retentions because your going to leave.

    You dont actually have to leave, but the threat is often enough to kick them into doing something - like send you the latest router.
     
  7. flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    7,450
    Thanks Received:
    1,340
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dispose of it - insecure, outdated junk.
    On top of that, being with the same provider for that long almost certainly means you are paying too much for a substandard service.

    If they won't supply a new one, and change you to a much better deal than you are currently getting - then many other suppliers are available.
    All of which would include a new router as part of the deal.

    Don't go and buy one - a waste of money, and if it doesn't work properly with your existing service for whatever reason, you are on your own. The ISPs solution will just to use their 'approved' device and nothing else.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. blup

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    508
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for advice, Sky were very helpful and are sending a free router, upgraded to meet current security/encryption standards.

    Blup
     
Loading...

Share This Page