1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

running a heavy load on a fused spur

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by toadhall, 4 Apr 2013.

  1. toadhall

    toadhall

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I am installing a washing machine and dryer with an occasional iron in the basement and need to install the sockets for these. I want to run a 3metre spur from the existing socket ring system on the ground floor. The appliances all used to be plugged into this ring system but now will run from the spur in the basement.

    As the appliances are heavy load, I intend to use 2.5mm2 cable for the spur and to fuse the spur with a 13amp fuse. The cable will be clipped to the wall rather than running through plaster.


    Is my proposed wiring safe? Will the fuse constantly blow? Should I just get a dedicated circuit installed for the basement?


    thanks!
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,783
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What's the point of that?


    Not really.


    It might.

    If you're unlucky the FCU might catch fire through being subjected to a load so high that it overheats but not high enough to rupture the fuse - check the time/current curves for BS 1362 fuses: http://www.diynot.com/wiki/electrics:bs1362


    Yes.
     
  4. OwainDIYer

    OwainDIYer

    Joined:
    5 May 2010
    Messages:
    4,530
    Thanks Received:
    693
    Location:
    Stirlingshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    run 2 cables and extend the ring.

    It's not actually that much more work.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. toadhall

    toadhall

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the advice.

    The spur is already in place, but is single socket with no fuse. My 'work' would be to install the FCU and a double socket.

    So the option of extending the ring from the ground floor involves removing floorboards/walls etc. and is not practicable.

    My consumer unit is in the basement right next to the appliances so it would be very easy to wire a new ring circuit for the appliances, but the problem is there is no spare space for a new circuit.

    Is there anyway (apart from buying a new CU) of installing the new ring using existing setup?
     
  6. AdamCH

    AdamCH

    Joined:
    30 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    579
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the CU is in the basement then could you not break into the ring at that point? Add a socket next to the CU - one leg of your new ring to the CU & other to the socket.
     
  7. toadhall

    toadhall

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Never thought of that. Seems obvious really.



    tks
     
  8. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,347
    Thanks Received:
    509
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you also not advisable to have a washer & dryer plugged into the same double socket (unless it's an MK). So 3 sockets would be best.
    Probably the least of your worries though.
     
  9. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,783
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should also do some design calculations to check that you won't be overloading one leg of the ring if you have sockets that close to the origin which you use for appliances like that.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. toadhall

    toadhall

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks. This has occurred to me as well.

    As the appliances are right next to the CU, is it advisable to use considerably more cable than the distance requires, just so the ring is balanced and doesn't just draw on one leg?
     
  12. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    24,318
    Thanks Received:
    2,376
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or use 4 mm for the leg from the CU to the new sockets. Then however "un-balanced" the load was that leg would not be over loaded by a load to the maximum of the MCB.

    Considerable care will be needed in the terminals where the 4 mm meets the 2.5 mm to ensure the joint is secure.
     
  13. AdamCH

    AdamCH

    Joined:
    30 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    579
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  14. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    19,932
    Thanks Received:
    2,044
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A 4mm spur from a 2.5mm standard ring final? I'm not sure if that is best practise. Better to provide a separate 32A MCB and create a new 4mm radial circuit.
     
  15. AdamCH

    AdamCH

    Joined:
    30 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    579
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or perhaps he should just break into both legs of his existing ring and put a socket on each to split the washing machine & drier. Still not sure whether this problem is real enough to be worried.
     
  16. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    35,824
    Thanks Received:
    1,181
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can't even draw on one leg, never mind two.
     
  17. toadhall

    toadhall

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, I had a look a the CU and there is one 32A 2.5mm radial circuit that supplies one double socket at the other end of the basement.

    My new plan is to replace this radial with a 32A 2.5mm ring that supplies this socket, the washer dryer and a freezer. The washer dryer will be moved so that they aren't too close to the CU.

    Will a straight swap for a radial to a ring cause any issues on my CU?
     
Loading...

Share This Page