1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Running cable through stud wall

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by jon92, 12 Jun 2013.

  1. jon92

    jon92

    Joined:
    23 May 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I want to add a new double socket on a RCD-protected ring, ideally extending the ring, rather than a spur. There is an existing socket in the same room but on an adjoining wall, from which the cables could run horizontally and round the corner if that's allowed. Both walls are wooden studs.
    I'm hoping by now someone has invented a miracle tool that avoids having to break large areas of plaster and magically threads the cable through the studs and wherever it needs to go. If there is such a thing, please tell me what it's called. If not, what is the tidiest way to do this please? There is no easy access from above or below as it's ground floor with ceramic tiles.
     
  2. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    18,855
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ha ha, if only.....

    I'm afraid its chopping holes round the wall (the cables can go horizontally between the two sockets). Start at the fist socket and probe horizontally with a flexy stick until you find the next vertical. cut out a square of plasterboard, notch teh joist for teh cable and move on to the next.

    Replace the cut out squares and make good. Its time consuming, but do-able.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. SimonH2

    SimonH2

    Joined:
    4 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    5,404
    Thanks Received:
    554
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't suppose there's an outside (both ways) you can get to on the corner ? If so, then you could use a long drill to drill in from the outside of the corner. Obviously, you need to determine that there's no cables or pipes that you'll drill through first !
    If you can carefully remove the back box, that should give you enough gap to work through to fish the ends of the cable - but thinking about it, you won't be able to go round the square corner the drill holes make so may have to cut a bit more out.

    If it's a "tee" wall joint, then you would have to work along one wall (the head of the tee, opposite side to the upright) as previously described, but might be able to drill into the other wall with a long drill.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,784
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes.

    It's called "an electrician who knows how to install MICC".

    That could be run around the very base of the wall, and would be less than plasterboard thickness.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,381
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    providing cable routes follow the permitted safe zones, it would be allowed.
    link
    http://www.diynot.com/wiki/electrics:installation_techniques:walls
    Unfortunately not such a tool, as timbers will require drilling for cable to be routed, it is impossible to do this without gaining access to the timbers and allowing space for the drill to perform the task.
    The best method would be to locate your upright studs and cut a section that would allow timbers to be holed and cables routed, the section removed is easier to repair if the hole is square or rectangle.
    If you have cable rods, this may help threading the cable through the holed stud work. This could depend on distance between studs though.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. jon92

    jon92

    Joined:
    23 May 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks all, really helpful advice as always from this forum. At least if I keep the cable runs horizontal then I am legal, even if untidy.
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,784
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seriously, if you want to DIY, start looking into pyro and looking for materials and tools on fleabay - you could run that around the base of the wall with no chopping into studs.

    TBF though, that might all end up costing you more than a plasterer - you have to assign a value to the satisfaction of learning new skills and acquiring new tools to make it positive. ;)
     
  9. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    7,139
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you have access above the ceiling, you may be able to run the cables vertically in the wall, which will mean less obstructions to overcome.
     
  10. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    18,855
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  11. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    22,420
    Thanks Received:
    2,104
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Somewhere in a different thread suggested using a round hole saw to remove a circle of the plaster board to access the stud work. Would be quicker than using a saw blade and make a cleaner cut.
     
  12. jon92

    jon92

    Joined:
    23 May 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I like the idea of a hole saw, might even be able to pop the cut out bit back in the hole when the cabling is finished. I had a look at the pyro stuff but it seems very expensive, assuming I found the right thing.
    A second problem has presented itself - I said in an earlier post I wanted to extend the ring rather than spur from the existing socket. But to do that would mean joining one of the cables from the existing socket to a new length running to the new socket. Is there an accepted way to do this? I know that you're not allowed to hide junction boxes behind the plaster. Or should I just spur instead?
     
  13. Adam_151

    Adam_151

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    6,485
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Would be very difficult I imagine to make it off into the K/O box with plasterboard in place, granted the first point would be just about do-able with some difficultly but when you need to do the next end and the cable is no longer free to move i'd imagine its damn near impossible
     
  14. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page