scrim tape or paper jointing tape

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Ok, I may be in for a rough ride ahead as I will be attempting some plaster jointing soon on my man cave. I've completed putting up the 12.5mm board and whilst looking at various YouTube videos, there is a mix of people using paper tape, and that reinforced scrim tape for the joins. Can anyone advice which is easier for the novice? I presume scrim tape is stronger?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
are you plastering the whole lot or just taping and filling the joints

Sorry I should have been more clear. I will be just filling the joints. I guess I just want to know the merits of the two types of joint material.

use either scrim tape can be just stuck on, where as paper tape needs to be bedded in jointing compound

Sponsored Links
I do a bit of jointing now and then when asked by a friend whose a jointer by trade they use paper on angles and mesh on the straights

Yeah Steve, I've read that a few times via a search here so I think ill do that. One thing though, due to the nature of the room (and some bad planning by myself), I have a mixture of tapered and butt joins. Can I still use either on both?

Whoops, butt joints are normally for plastering and using scrim tape, and tapered joints for paper and then filling the joints. How big's the man cave. You can fill the tapered joints level, and then get a plasterer in.

Whoops, butt joints are normally for plastering and using scrim tape, and tapered joints for paper and then filling the joints. How big's the man cave. You can fill the tapered joints level, and then get a plasterer in.
i plastered for a partition/ boarding company for years and lots of others in between they would mostly all put tapered boards up no need to fill tapered edges before skimming

Last edited: