Shared Neutrals

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I am fairly new to being an electrician and have come across my first shared neutral. Can anyone help with a strategy for getting rid of it before installing an MCB.

Sponsored Links
Identify where the borrowed neutral is, disconnect it. Identify which part of circuit live,where feed is from and where the neutral is connected on that circuit, and run new cable from power source, disconnect the existing live, if using twin and earth. Providing switch arrangement allows.

Hi

I am fairly new to being an electrician and have come across my first shared neutral. Can anyone help with a strategy for getting rid of it before installing an MCB.

MCB or RCD?

Shared neutrals are a problem on two or more different circuits if not covered by the same RCD.

Shared neutrals are most commonly found on lighting circuits - usually between the hall and landing area.

The term borrowed neutral can be a little confusing as often it is a borrowed line in real terms.

Items do share neutrals but the safety rules require that RCD and/or MCB should never supply a line to a circuit using a alternative return path.

However in many houses the demand for more and more lights with the ceiling rose limiting the supply to 5/6 amp has resulted in circuits being split.

However in older houses before anyone really considered EMC it was common to use two wire not three wire strappers between the light switches and "borrow" the line from another switch on the same unit. Today we don't do this mainly as it causes mains hum on radios, TV's and cordless phones.

When both are done we get the borrowed neutral but although dangerous and against the rule book it would work OK. But as the RCD's started to be fitted then these faults started to show themselves.

So to cure.