Signing off others work?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
What's the best way to find a electrician to sign off (AKA "Commission") my wiring?

Are you professional types all going to give me grief for wanting to save money and wire up my new-build extension?

I have done loads of wiring through the 80's and 90's. I have re-wired a complete house before, I have a degree in electrical and electronic engineering, a good understanding of IEE wiring regulations. I even have the book right here, - but technically I'm now not allowed to install my own wiring :(

So how do I go about finding a sympathetic registered electrician who will be prepared to check my work, possibly advise if necessary, and get my extension signed off, ie keep the cost down. - Do you exist?

I live in Surrey BTW

Sponsored Links
Hello Skyblob,
Are you in one of the 'posh' parts of Surrey ? (£££££) :LOL:

To be honest I cannot see anyone risking their registration over the signing off of a conservatory that they have not cabled, let alone come here and admit it ;) .

Ed

get my extension signed off, ie keep the cost down.
If you want someone else to notify Building Control via one of the competent persons schemes, this simply won't happen.
Members of competent persons schemes are only permitted to notify their own work.

You CAN install your own wiring, provided that you notify Building Control before the work is started. This would entail submitting a building notice, or full plans for larger works. A fee is payable.

If you have done the work without submitting plans or a building notice, you will need to apply for a regularisation certificate. This is similar to applying before the work is done, except it will cost more and may require that parts of the installation are dismantled or removed for inspection purposes.

If you just want someone to test & inspect work you have already done, there are plenty of people/companies which will do this. You will get a PIR (Periodic Inspection Report).