single/double MCB

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Good afternoon!

A quick question if I may, I am no expert what so ever, been a long time since I worked with a voltage higher than 5v DC :)

I have mains supply to a DIN rail device which I want to protect with a double pole MCB, however for my current rating requirements (very low) only single or three pole devices are available.

The electrician who has fitted this for me has used two single pole MCBs side by side, for L and N and has then simply placed a clip across the two switches insuring me that 'one will trip the other' etc.

As I say, I am a software eng so please no laughing at my lack of knowledge heh, but is this acceptable practice? Is the trip rating now not double what I want it to be using two MCBs?

Is it not possible or preferable to use just two poles of a 3 pole unit?

Thanks guys,

John

Sponsored Links
The trip rating will not have doubled by doing this. This is standard practice with certain makes of MCB to acheive double pole devices.

Btw - I have obtained 1 and 2 amp DP MCBs in the past !

Assuming it's a single-phase circuit, i.e. you don't need to monitor the current on both poles, a breaker with an auxiliary switch would have been OK.

But it's done now.

Sponsored Links
Putting a bar across the two MCBs will not make it a double pole MCB, they need to be internally linked. It will switch off both poles when operated manually but not necessarily on overcurrent - you'll probably find that if one operates both the switches will remain up even though one has tripped internally.

Putting a bar across the two MCBs will not make it a double pole MCB, they need to be internally linked. It will switch off both poles when operated manually but not necessarily on overcurrent - you'll probably find that if one operates both the switches will remain up even though one has tripped internally.
That's what I thought, which is why I was a little surprised when ricicle wrote: