Smoke exiting gas fireplace from real fire in room below

Joined
5 Mar 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi There

I've a small open fireplace in the cellar which has been NACS swept with a Colt cowl fitted but smoke exits from the living flame gas fireplace in the room above even though it has a separate flue. Any ideas or is it definitely a flue liner I need. I have a Co2 detector.

My first post!

Thank You

Jeff
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
24 Aug 2010
Messages
3,909
Reaction score
774
Location
Ayrshire
Country
United Kingdom
Jeff smoky house, hi.

Short answer is it looks as if a Flue liner is a requirement to the Flue from the Cellar fire.

Suggest you take some precautions? I know of some people that have not, despite being advised!

1/. Stop using the fire in the Cellar.
2/. Have the Flue from the Cellar fire inspected and checked by a Competent approved Contractor, follow his recommendations.

Just be thankful that the fire in the Cellar is not a gas fire?

Ken.
 
Joined
4 Oct 2012
Messages
9,118
Reaction score
2,705
Location
East Renfrewshire
Country
United Kingdom
Sounds like you're getting bleed in the chimney stack. The flues share the same breast I assume? The old mortar will have degraded, allowing smoke to migrate from one flue to another to another.

Before any chimney is used, it requires a full smoke test to confirm that the flue lining is sound, if there is any bleed at all then a liner is required, as KEN described. If it's an inset gas fire/LFE a liner will usually be required regardless as a gas fires output into the chimney is much hotter. I'd have the whole breast tested ASAP just in case the flue that your LFE is using is also porous.
 
Joined
16 Jan 2012
Messages
9,816
Reaction score
2,036
Location
Uk
Country
United Kingdom
Sounds like you're getting bleed in the chimney stack. The flues share the same breast I assume? The old mortar will have degraded, allowing smoke to migrate from one flue to another to another.

TRUE

Before any chimney is used, it requires a full smoke test to confirm that the flue lining is sound, if there is any bleed at all then a liner is required, as KEN described.

TRUE

If it's an inset gas fire/LFE a liner will usually be required regardless
Do you mean regardless of condition of flue?- if so, then wrong I am afraid


as a gas fires output into the chimney is much hotter.

Not necessarily. Depends on type of gas fire compared to type of SF fire. But irrelevant anyway. NO fire should be used with a leaking flue

I'd have the whole breast tested ASAP just in case the flue that your LFE is using is also porous.

If the coal fumes are passing through to gas fire flue, then it clearly IS faulty - in both dorections

To sum up OP, as suggested, discontinue use until rectified
 
Joined
4 Oct 2012
Messages
9,118
Reaction score
2,705
Location
East Renfrewshire
Country
United Kingdom
Sounds like you're getting bleed in the chimney stack. The flues share the same breast I assume? The old mortar will have degraded, allowing smoke to migrate from one flue to another to another.

TRUE

Before any chimney is used, it requires a full smoke test to confirm that the flue lining is sound, if there is any bleed at all then a liner is required, as KEN described.

TRUE

If it's an inset gas fire/LFE a liner will usually be required regardless
Do you mean regardless of condition of flue?- if so, then wrong I am afraid


as a gas fires output into the chimney is much hotter.

Not necessarily. Depends on type of gas fire compared to type of SF fire. But irrelevant anyway. NO fire should be used with a leaking flue

I'd have the whole breast tested ASAP just in case the flue that your LFE is using is also porous.

If the coal fumes are passing through to gas fire flue, then it clearly IS faulty - in both dorections

To sum up OP, as suggested, discontinue use until rectified

Thanks for that FT, I was under the impression that most if not all LFE now called for S/ Sliners or for the flue to be recast if the chimneys are mortar based but I guess in thinking about it, it would be the case with any type of fire and the CO dangers and as long as it passes it's pull and smoke test then it's fair enough. Cheers! (y)
 
Joined
28 Oct 2005
Messages
13,547
Reaction score
3,189
Location
Daventry
Country
United Kingdom
Hi There

I've a small open fireplace in the cellar which has been NACS swept with a Colt cowl fitted but smoke exits from the living flame gas fireplace in the room above even though it has a separate flue. Any ideas or is it definitely a flue liner I need. I have a Co2 detector.

My first post!

Thank You

Jeff

Immediately discontinue use of both appliances. Both chimneys will need to be lined
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
5 Mar 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks for all the replies and the safety advice. Guess I knew I needed one flue liner and now possibly two. I made a mistake saying it was an lfe. It is open flame with imitation coals lodged on top. Is it worth getting a camera survey first to see if there's an easier solution. Thanks again.
 
Joined
5 Mar 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
So a camera survey is a waste of time? And for the smoke test do I need a gas engineer and a chimney sweep or just a gas person
 
Joined
25 Aug 2008
Messages
5,754
Reaction score
2,896
Country
United Kingdom
Your bridges are broken between chimneys. Only solution is to line them both.
 
Joined
28 Oct 2005
Messages
13,547
Reaction score
3,189
Location
Daventry
Country
United Kingdom
A camera will only tell you what you already know - that the wall between the two chimneys is breached and neither are currently safe to use as a result. Lining both is the only option here
 
Joined
5 Mar 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks for all the responses. Looks like a flue liner for both but I might end up with a wood burner instead of the gas fire so at least some gain. My first time on here and a very positive experience so thanks again.

Jeff
 
Sponsored Links
Top