some advice regarding a shed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

I am thinking of building my own shed down the bottom of my garden just away from my fence ...The shed will be 12 x12 foot and 7 feet high ..

Was thinking of making wooden base once i have sorted my foundation out ... I thought of using 3 4x4 treated skids ...and build the base frame from treated 4x4... The side walls and front walls will be 4x2 for the framing ..I thought of having the roof pitch at 6/12 using trusses ,here is where i need some advice as i have never done this before and have been reading online about roof pitches etc.

I was thinking of leaving 12" overhang on the rafters after cutting out my birds mouth and nailing to the top plate..

Because the shed will be 12ft wide do i need to cut the rafter to 7ft foot each side at 6/12 pitch this including my 12 " overhang ?? how many trusses would you advise for this size. ..also i was thinking of 16 oc for floor base and 24" oc for front/side walls..
All advice welcome as i am planning this so i don't run into trouble.

Waiting in anticipation for your professional advice.

Sponsored Links
built my 10x12 ft 8 years ago

all timbers 3x2 at 2ft centers floor and walls

built my 10x12 ft 8 years ago

all timbers 3x2 at 2ft centers floor and walls
Looks really good ..do you think i am over doing it using 4x4 and 4x2? also any advice regarding trusses that i mentioned ??

did you click on the picture to see the other pictures including roof detail :?: :?:

Sponsored Links
did you click on the picture to see the other pictures including roof detail :?: :?:
yes i have also seen it before i think ..you done a good job there ..hard to tell though with roof as it's not a full pic of roof inside .Like i said it's my first a tempt at a shed ..was gonna buy one but most look flimsy so would rather have a go myself and try to make it last. :p

look at the picture off the front and you can see the "A" frame shape and size