Some advice welcomed please re moving bathroom pullswitch

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

My bathroom pull cord switch is right in the way of a shower cubicle.

I thought my hubby could move this by channelling out the wall the other side and to put in a proper light switch.

He knows the basics of electrics, so would this be easy enough to do ourselves, and would the wiring be the same to connect up in the loft please.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thankyou

Lolly.

Sponsored Links
I am not a qualified electrician but one will no doubt be along soon ...

However, moving a light switch shouldn't be too difficult. Without knowing the layout of your bathroom, I would suggest fitting another / moving the existing pull cord and keeping it within the room - more for convenience than any other reason. If you do then you will need a new stretcher between the joists to screw the switch to, and a new length of 1.0 or 1.5mmsq twin and earth from the switch to the light fitting. Simply remove one wire at a time replacing it with the new.

Alternatively, a switch on the outside is acceptable. Again chase the cable into the wall, cover with a capping and transfer one wire at a time. I think the only word of caution would be the distance of the switch from such fittings as the wash basin, ie you cannot touch the switch whilst having a hand in water - no doubt Breezer could quote the regs.

sorry you can NOT have a "ordainairy" switch in a bathroom, but yes you can move the pull cord switch

Hopefully you have a "loop in" lighting circuit.....

Turn off the lighting circuit.

Remove the cable from the switch to the ceiling rose (or junction box if that method)(make a note of the connections, breezer advice)

Renew cable from ceiling rose (or junction box) to new light switch position, make sure its NOT in the bathroom if using normal switch...