Some EPDM Questions

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

I am gradually moving to wards using EPDM for my workshop roof. It's a flat roof (with a slight run-off pitch to it).

Does anyone know :

1. How heavy would a single sheet of EPDM 10mx5m be. Could two of us get it up onto the roof and would it fold up small enough to go in the back of a landrover for transport!

2. The water based adhesive used to bond it - is that just regular builder's PVA adhesive?

Thanks for any help, I'm still learning my way!

FB.

Sponsored Links
Thanks, hadn't see that one yet;

13 1/2 stone - ooff!

So could two of us lift me onto the roof.

Building it in my head so all we need do is assemble! I'm down to counting screws. The four feet of snow delayed things a bit!

How small would that fold up to?

My sheet was 3.5 X 3.5 and it folded to 18 inches by 12 inches by about 4 inches thick.

Sponsored Links
Damn heavy is the answer. I just managed to get a 5x4 sheet up a ladder. This was folded to something like the equivalent of two rolls of felt

As this is a single storey, the best way may be to tie some rope to the bundle and pull it up some sloping timber or some sloping ply sheets

The adhesive is not just PVA, but is a much stronger contact adhesive

I did my roof not long ago (Sept 08) with a EPDM diy kit, great product and would recommend but.... with a word of caution.

Some applications require you fix an edge trim to the gutter edge, mainly for cosmetic features and I agree it looks a lot nicer, but here is where the caution comes in, if you are putting a solid piece of rubber down which is, in itself impregnable to water, why would you then drill fixings through it to hold the trim in place thus creating an element of weakness in said membrane?