spur off a socket for a 2kw fire?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi im new to this, im doing my 17th edition at the minute but not quite sure on the rules and regs yet... i have a home project that im doing at the minute and not sure if its right to do it that way or not.
ive just had the gas capped off for the fire place, stuffed the chimney with wire wool and boarded it up i now want to put an electric fire on the wall (max output 2kw) i have a double socket on either side of the chimney breast. my house has no cavity either..

could i get a fuse spur off one off the double sockets and put a 15amp fuse in it?

Sponsored Links
No, you can only fit a 13A fuse max to a fused spur unit, (check your maths too, 2kw @ 230v = how many amps?). Wether or not you can spur from the ring depends on if the sockets are on the ring or not.

quick reply! yes sorry 13amp fuse i meant, ill have to check they are on a ring first, so say they was, a 13amp spur would be sufficient for the fire to run safely? because from what i understand the total out put would be about 9amps? am i somewhere along the right lines.. :)

Yep.

Do you know how to differentiate a ring circuit from a spur feeding another spur?

Sponsored Links
err.. not actually tried it but isnt there a device that you plug into your socket and it tells you if its on a ring or not? from b & q?

i got told there is a plug device in b&q that checks for such as that. its orange and looks like a plug! obviously used for something else.. how am i able to check then if either off my double sockets are a spur off a spur or just on a ring?

How far trained are you?

Start by looking at the wiring behind the socket, if there is only 1 set of wires then it will be a spur.
If there are 2 sets of wires then there is a good chance it will be a ring.
Simple check is to isolate the supply, separate out the 3 wires and measure the end to end resistance of them.