strange tax situation

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
basically i work as a gas fitter and i am on the books of my company
i earned around 36 grand last year
i get paid price work and i dictate how much my apprentice gets
he is 18 years old and has just got his nvq 2 in plumbing
we paid the wages seperately so he got his wage and i got mine eg me 800 him 400 quid
the company want me now to put any extra money i am paying the apprentice on to my wage any thing over 206 pound and give it to him after its been through my tax
which will i think put me in to the higher tax bracket
i am going to give him the money minus 40percent to cover my taxation
can any one give me any advice or tell me any effects this thing i have to do will have on my wages

Sponsored Links
as you are getting paid a price then you technically employ the 'prentice..

so i think they are within their rights to pay you the whole amount and make you pay the prentice out of it..

I don't think it will put you into the higher tax band because it's not a personal income, it's a business income and expenditure.. like buying pipe and charging the customer.. your income will be calculated after such expenditures..

I had a good accountant, and after some creative book keeping, I was only earning 9-11000ish a year out of the 20-24000 that went through my bank account... and was taxed accordingly.. usually ending up with a 1500-2000ish tax rebate every year because I was getting 18% took off every pay check..

then again I'm not a tax expert.. so you might want to seek professional advice from maybe a tax lawyer or your accountant..

Does this agreement not make you his employer?

If so, then a whole new can o' worms opens up.

Watch out for vat limits too.

our company pay our national insurance tax and every thing so i cant claim anything back dont think anyway

Sponsored Links
they pay for him to go to college am sure he is def one of the firm employees