1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Surge Protection Device (SPD)

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by hard-work, 13 May 2020.

  1. hard-work

    hard-work

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    2,057
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe in new installations to the 18th, a SPD has to be installed unless a risk assessment is carried out and says "no". If you can do not to do the risk assessment then the SPD become mandatory.

    Is that so?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,177
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom


    I think it says.

    1) if you live in (e.g 1 bed flat) with little electronic equipment
    or
    2) You can see the substation from your window,

    you don't require one
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. hard-work

    hard-work

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    2,057
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So SPDs should be in just about every new installation then? In short the norm, as RCDs became.
     
  5. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    8,941
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Commercial, industrial and most everything else that's not domestic - required

    Domestic - risk assessment will indicate required or not, but that does NOT cover situations where overvoltage can be caused by things within the installation, so may be still be required even if the assessment says not.

    If risk assessment is not done, required unless value of installation does not justify protection.

    Installations with nothing of value worth protecting are exceptionally rare, as are those that don't have inductive or capacitive loads.

    443.4.jpg
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. hard-work

    hard-work

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    2,057
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Last edited: 14 May 2020
  7. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,177
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They don’t even make that product anymore. Clearing stock.

    If you look at Hager or fusebox you can specify spd
     
  8. davelx

    davelx

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    1,688
    Thanks Received:
    130
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  9. hard-work

    hard-work

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    2,057
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My point is that the scenarios in which a SPD is omitted will be so few that most CUs fitted will have one. An e.g., even though RCDs were not mandatory they were being fitted becoming the norm.

    Look at the S/fix web site. They sell many pre-wired CUs already populated. None have SPDs in them.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. davelx

    davelx

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    1,688
    Thanks Received:
    130
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The thing about these devices is that they wear out and eventually need to be replaced. I wonder how many householders will either know or bother.
     
  12. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,177
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    About as much as people replace every 10 years, smoke alarms or airbags
     
  13. hard-work

    hard-work

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    2,057
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Quite cheap:


    The follow up vid.. he got the first one wrong a little.

     
    Last edited: 17 May 2020
  14. markyd1

    markyd1

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    77
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    single dwelling (house)....recommendation only....if the client says no then doesnt have to be fitted
     
  15. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    8,941
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No.

    It's either required or not.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    23,588
    Thanks Received:
    2,267
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why is "transient suppression" necessary ?

    Because too many appliances / lamps / etc are so poorly designed that they self destruct when they get a piddly little transient up their input circuit.

    And/or

    The supply network is now compromised by :-

    (1) solar PV networks coming on and off line ( tend to be surges rather than transients ) but a 11kv -> 230v network transformer can "spike" it's output when the load on it changes due to a significant PV event

    (2) other customers with large inductive loads.

    (3) other customers with large capacitive loads.
     
  17. hard-work

    hard-work

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    2,057
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bernard, I would think numbers 1), 2) and 3) are why.
     
Loading...

Share This Page