Surging Lawnmower

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a Hyundai 510sp lawnmower that is surging and I can't figure out what's wrong. I've cleaned the carburettor about 5 times with carburettor spray and enlarged the 2 valves slightly with a micro drill bit. All the little holes are clear. It was fine last year but I did leave fuel in it over the winter.

Should I just buy a new carburettor?

I didn't know about Hyundai lawnmower reputation before I bought it (second hand).
It's driving me crazy

Sponsored Links
The engine surging is usually due to carburettor issues, as you suspect.
Can I ask you which valves you enlarged please?
A new carb could be the way to go - often the Chinese replacements are astonishing value for money.
John :)

Sponsored Links
I'll try to describe them, the brass one above the emulsionfying pin and the black one on top, that you need to remove the throttle limiting screw in order to remove. Is you can tell, I'm no expert

Yes, a new carburettor is £25, free postage. So very reasonable

It seems like you have dealt with the slow running jet ( that’s the one on the top of the carburettor) and the emulsion tube....that one deals with revs up to 3/4 maximum then the main jet fully takes over.
If you have an air line you could have another go, but I’d really go for a replacement carb here - but please use new gaskets too.
John

carburettor it is! Yes, I've added the gaskets to the cart already. Thanks for your help

Turns out it's not the carburettor. Any other ideas, or is pushing it off a bridge best?

PLEASE!

Have you altered the governor rods and springs in any way.......bent them or stretched them?
I'm assuming that you are getting a good flow of petrol from the tank -- no blocked filter or collapsed hoses?
Try turning the spring loaded idle screw in a bit - just to get a fast tickover - and come back.
John :)

The rod and spring looks fine to me.

The filter in brand new and the hoses don't look collapsed.