The humps

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Is it me or are the other drivers a bit thick?
Near where I live is a road with a series of humps designed to slow drivers down.
However I have lost count of the number of drivers who on approaching a hump suddenly decide to drive very close to the kerb to avoid the two inside wheels going over the hump.
I am no engineer, but surely this will result in greater stress and ultimately more wear and tear on the cars suspension than if all four wheels went evenly over the hump.
Yes I no it's a bit sad but I would like to know if my theory is correct.

Sponsored Links
I do exactly that in my van.
As the van is owned by the company I work for I'm am not all that bothered about wear and tear, but I have found that going over with 2 wheels saves shaking all the bits out of my lin-bins onto the floor of the back of the van.

put the roads back....thats what i say..road humps was brought out for twockers, rife a couple of years ago,But with better security on cars nowadays it's hardly heard of....Road humps just love works vehicles vans and lorrys.- The drivers aint bothered because it's not their vehicle.... road humps shake properties to bits....road humps does not deter speeders...you could say i've got the hump about this ;)

i like the humps where there's just a "hill" in the middle, and you can straddle the hill with the wheels :LOL:

but these are ever so slightly pointless once drivers get good at positioning the car right, surely.

Anyone who has driven in America will have seen those spikes in the ground on exits / entrances to carparks which are able to be raised or lowered - i like these, why not connect one to a Gatso and see how many people get their tyres shredded :LOL: (actually, i think they are like a one way control thing - going the wrong way will cause them to stick in the tyre, but my idea of raising / lowering is cool :LOL: )

Sponsored Links