Thermostatic valves for imperial radiators ?

Just to addd to what has been said as an amateur I have never seen a radiator with metric threads.

Worked on systems from the 1960s to 2003 in houses we have lived in over the last 30 years.

The brass tail (may be chromed and comes with the valve) will be 1/2 BSP taper as will the hole in the radiator. Tails frequently don't fit other valves so use the tail which comes with the valve.

Never even check when I buy a radiator that I have picked up an imperial and never been surprised.

Now does your plumber mean you have 1/2 inch copper tube instead of 15mm? If this is the case it is an easy job to replace the last couple of inches of pipe with 15mm using a converter. There may be kits available to put 1/2 inch tube into a 15mm compression joint on the valve - long time since I had the problem and cannot remember which is bigger (1/2 or 15mm).

Sponsored Links
long time since I had the problem and cannot remember which is bigger (1/2 or 15mm).

They're both the same size mate however old heavy gauge copper isn't and can be up to 18MM od but don't think the OP is talking about pipe that old.

Screwed and sweated copper :eek: That would be worth totting

Like that Noge F, Oh how I would like some of that stuff in the scrap box nowadays. :LOL:

Threadedcopper001.jpg

Sponsored Links
Hi all
I know this has been covered already, but I couldn't quite see my combination of bits, so just looking for clarity.

This is a metric TRV/imperial rad tail/pipework question.
Fitted TRVs before at my last two places, but always metric-for-metric. As will be obvious, I'm no pro...

Acquired some new and unused 15mm Drayton TRVs free, so naturally would like to use them :D
Here's what I know:

Used a basic set of calipers for measurements (metric and imperial scales).
Boiler 7 years old but rads fitted more than 20 years ago.
All vertical pipes into manual valves seem to have 1/2" OD.