Time-Lag Switch Wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
IMG_3642.jpg Hello, we have a stairwell with 3 old "spring-loaded" time-lag light switches controlling a light fitting. They are starting to wear out physically and I want to replace them all with illuminated solid-state ones. It's a "no-neutral" switch wiring. I've looked at several and it seems they all now need only 2 cables. The existing cabling is 3-way, red yellow and blue. (Picture attached) All 3 test live, but I think the reason for this is that one of the switches is jammed permanently on. I'm not a novice, and I can work out logically which cable does what, so I'm assuming that one of the wires will become redundant. Another aspect to this is that for low-consumption bulbs, a capacitor is used across the load. I understand the reason for this but where is it normally situated? It seems physically quite large so mounting it in the ceiling rose is probably not practical, any thoughts? Many thanks for any advice

Sponsored Links
The switch requires the red wire and one of the others - which one depends on what those wires are connected to at the other end.
The 3rd wire isn't needed with the new or the old switches, likely it was put in the 3rd terminal just for somewhere to put it.

Unless you want endless problems with the lighting and switches not working properly, it would be far better to fit retractive switches and a single timer in the consumer unit or similar.