Tips for complete novice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all :D
Was hoping for some good advise off all you plastering experts. I am a joiner and recently had a go at plastering a wall, which was pretty good. even shocked myself. But was wondering if you girls/guys could give me more help to make me better. The steps i did was as follows:-
sorry don't know tech terms used
1.) put on first cost from top left to bottom right
2.) Run over with dry trowel
3.) Put on 2nd slightly thinner coat
4.) Run over with dry trowel
5.) Run over with slightly wet brushed trowel.
I had 2 problems that i noticed. First was I didn't seem to get chance for a brew lol cos I am a bit slow putting coats on at the moment and second was when i was spreading coats on I found it hard to spread near even on first arch movement. What angle should i have the trowel. I had edge about 10mm from the wall but had to go over several times to get it even. Should I start with 10mm from wall then go flatter as less plaster is on trowel when i do my arch movements?
Do plasterboards need pva on before skimming? If so what part water/pva?
Would love to continue practicing with your good advise
Any help and advise would be highly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
you seem to have board skimming sussed!

no pva though.

the angle of the trowel will depend upon how you want to lay off the material from the trowel to the wall. or, if you are flattening or doing some serious dry troweling.

a plasterboard has very predictable low to moderate suction. the angle of the trowel will be fairly constant, when laying material onto the boards.

the angle of the trowel will differ greatly when troweling up and will depend upon how much pressure you wish to apply.

any shallow angle is difficult to maintain and requires the greatest skill. the trowel can actually stick to the surface, particularly a new one and result in the plasterer pulling skim off the wall due to the suction. :rolleyes: