Trianco eurostar 65 will fire but not stay lit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi. A newbie here. Have good DIY skills but central heating kinda goes over my head?? :oops:

My Trianco is 10 years old. Has run faultlessly all this time until recently.

All of a sudden we have no hot water. Boiler stone cold and has not appeared to run. Press the button (lit orange) on the relay box and bingo, she fires (fan runs fine). I can then here it going out then relighting in random pattern. No air bubbles in the oil feed and plenty in the tank.

This happened couple of weeks ago and he above sequence cured it and it has ran no issues until now.

Stats working fine. It gets to stat temp and cuts out. Wind the stat up and it fires. Worth mentioning that at this point the orange light on the relay box is NOT lit.

Any ideas. I've looked for diagrams to strip it (not afraid of stripping it down if I know what I'm looking for).

I'm thinking partially blocked jet or something similar????

Any suggestions greatly appreciated. Thanks

Sponsored Links
sounds like it could need a service. possibly the photocell needs cleaning/replacing caused by poor combustion.

I'm wondering when your boiler was last cleaned out, and the burner serviced?
Anyway there are a few things that need checking out.
The photocell needs to be clean (although this generally allows the burner to start and then lock out after a few seconds)
The coil on the top of the oil pump is notorious for failing, especially when it gets warm, and the oil pressure at the pump needs to be checked.
Ideally, a full flue gas analysis should be taken, with a smoke test done first.
Before any burner repairs or adjustments, the boiler baffles and flue ways must be cleaned out first.
John :)

Not sure when it was last serviced to be honest.