Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A customer has asked for a quote for a garage conversion, one of the requests is to have underfloor heating, the problem is that they have asked for the electric mat system and the area is 40m2. is that even possible with the load on the wiring. it seems like a lot of cable under the floor. also the running cost would be frightening!

The garage is detached so no central heating available, the sub floor will be the standard floating floor with engineered wood floor covering of some sort, i would like advice on an alternative as i think the area will take to long to warm up unless the UFH is left on all day and night. convector heaters or skirting board heater (know nothing about these) cam to mind but this customer expects a high spec finish and has the funds to do so, saying that convector heaters can look a little cheap. by the way im a general builder with limited electrical experience..

Thanks Nick

Sponsored Links
A customer has asked for a quote for a garage conversion, one of the requests is to have underfloor heating, the problem is that they have asked for the electric mat system and the area is 40m2. is that even possible with the load on the wiring. it seems like a lot of cable under the floor. also the running cost would be frightening! The garage is detached so no central heating available .... i would like advice on an alternative ... customer expects a high spec finish and has the funds to do so ...
I'm sure you are right in wanting to find some alternative to UFH to suggest to the customer!