"Unfinished" flue question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
When I had my boiler serviced, the chap said he was concerned that the flue pipe hadn't been sealed into the exterior wall, and there was a small risk of CO leaking into the house. Not concerned enough to condemn the boiler or anything, but I should still get it sorted.

Basically, behind the circular rubber seal, there's no mortar surrounding the flue in its square hole in the brickwork. I'm not sure I'm explaining this too well, so here's a photo:
IMG1178.jpg

Obviously inside the house, it's all sealed into the plaster, etc. and it looks ok inside the hole, but this may still allow gases to leak back into the house I suppose.

Anyway, can I finish this myself, or is that interfering with the boiler in a way that would require a CORGI-qualified person?

If I can do it, how do I go about it? I've never done any brick/mortar work before, so if you want to refer me to a more suitable forum on this site for advice that might be best. I'm thinking "Building", but that sounds a bit dramatic.

Thanks,

Chris

Sponsored Links
Thanks. :)

Does the rubber collar come off easily? I'm thinking it's going to be rather tricky trying to hold it back and fill the gap without making a right mess of it...

yes the collar slides off,

make sure the boiler has been off for a while and no one can turn the boiler on while you are working there. ;)

then when the pointing is in and the hole is blocked carefully slide the collar over again.

Sponsored Links
Thanks to you both.

I'll switch the boiler off a couple of hours beforehand - the central heating isn't turned on yet anyway so it's just for the hot water. Do I need to leave it a while after as well or will the drying mortar not be negatively affected by the flue getting hot?

BG insist on both sealed and/or collar. Have pulled up several new instals lately with our boilers after year in and they have came to do first service.