UPVC Door - Hinges

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

Is it possible to change the hinges on my door from butt to flag

When the door is shut (handle lifted up) I have a visible gap running down the handle side of the door

When it's windy you can feel the wind coming through

I've tried adjusting the butt hinges but they won't adjust enough

If I can swap them for flag I'll have more adjustment

Thanks in advance

Kev

Sponsored Links
Thanks for that

The existing holes I'll cover with silicone

So is it easy to remove hinges / door just I've not removed one before

Is it basically remove all grab screws

Remove all top of hinge covers

Then door should lift off

Please advise if possible, also which flag hinges do I get, is there different sizes

I'm quite handy at DIY just I've never done a upvc door before

Thanks

Kev

http://www.dgsupplyline.co.uk/hinges-stays/door-hinges/

Remove and replace one hinge at a time making sure the door hasn't sagged over to one side, prop it off the wall if needs be, take a look at the hinges in the link and take a note of the sizes they are suitable for, most notably the rebate height i.e the thickness of the door sash and how far away from the frame face the door face is, choose a hinge that includes various sized shims/packers that fit between the hinge and frame

Sponsored Links
Links in this post may contain affiliate links for which DIYnot may be compensated.
The hinges are all marked and drilled with jigs with the door flat on a bench so if you take your door off completely and fit the flags to the door sash you then need to lift the door back into the frame and pack it so its sits square and with equal coverage all round to be able to mark the frame for the other half of the hinge, it would just be a right pain, doors aren't light ;)